Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Chronister named co-MVP of Region 1
Jan 08, 2014 | 2251 views | 0 0 comments | 22 22 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Bountiful’s Brady Litz and Woods Cross’ Xequille Harry were both named to the All-Region 6 first team.
Bountiful’s Brady Litz and Woods Cross’ Xequille Harry were both named to the All-Region 6 first team.

Harry, Litz among All Region 6 members


Clipper Sports Editor

KAYSVILLE – Colton Chronister guided the Davis Darts football team to an undefeated regular season, using both his arm and legs to carry the Darts to a Region 1 title in 2013.

That kind of a season, only good enough to earn him honorable mention All-State honors, was good enough for the coaches of Region 1 to name him the co-Most Valuable Player of the region.

He is sharing that honor this season with Syracuse’s Kavika Fonua.

Also earning high honors this season was defensive lineman Kawika Tupuola. The senior was named co-MVP on the defense after getting 51 tackles and 4.5 sacks for one of the best scoring defenses in 5A.

Eight other Darts earned first team All-Region 1 honors. Among them are Davis Hanson, Abel Porter, Jaden Richins, Sam Christiansen, Chandler Rudolph, Matt Morrell, Arron Becker and Parker Rose.

Morrell led the team in interceptions, pulling down six in the 2013 season. His interception total tied him for fifth among all 5A defense men.

Hanson led the team in tackles, totaling 80 on the season, and Porter led the team in receiving yards (472) and touchdowns (six).

From Viewmont, Chase Beckman and Dallin Tracy also earned first team honors. 

Other locals earning first team honors were: Syracuse’s Kaiden Craig, Kavika Fonua, Wyatt German, Teague Vigil, Daunte Atkinson, Trevor Olsen, Blake Taurone, Braiden Tovey and Deondre Watson; Northridge’s Jace Colby, Austin Ricks, Josh Hawes, Nate Kusuda, Darrin Alexander, Houston Lacey, Dallas Moklebust and Dayan Lake; and Layton’s Stetson Wood, Jordan Jaramillo, Hunter Evans, Jacob Shaw and Landon Brown.

In a stacked Region 6, neither Bountiful nor Woods Cross had a player named as an MVP; however, 12 players from the Braves and Wildcats were named to the first team.

For Bountiful, Ryan Curtis, Tanner Redding, Sam Merrill, Max Latu and Brady Litz made the first team. 

Merrill was the team leader in receiving yards for the Braves this season, catching 46 balls for 646 yards and three touchdowns. Redding was a favorite target for both Trevor Lloyd and Jordan Hayes, catching 10 touchdowns.

Latu, one of the many players that played both offense and defense, had 64 tackles and 2.5 sacks for the Braves. Litz had 33 tackles with two interceptions in the secondary.

Woods Cross had seven members make the first team list, including Xequille Harry, Braxton Gunther, Gavin Moore, Deion Saumalu, Mason Newton, Tomasi Giles and Siale Mausia.

Harry, the team’s all-around performer this season, led the team in receiving yards, and was tied for the team lead in receptions and touchdowns.

Harry also intercepted six passes in the secondary, and had three interceptions in the first round of the 4A playoffs against Box Elder.

Giles led the team in sacks on defense, and scored six rushing touchdowns on just 25 carries.

Saumalu was second on the team in tackles, and was third on the team in sacks. Moore led the Wildcats defense with 10 sacks on the season, and finished in the top 10 among defenders in the 4A class.

Clearfield’s Kelly Thorpe and Dakota Wickel also earned first team honors in the region.


Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of
Follow us on: