Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
New faces ready for battle in city elections
Jun 13, 2013 | 9481 views | 0 0 comments | 197 197 recommendations | email to a friend | print


Clipper Editor

BOUNTIFUL — Campaigns have just kicked off for the 2013 municipal elections around Davis County, and new faces abound.

The candidate filing deadline for municipal offices was last week, and lasted only from June 3-7.

In the most recent session of the Utah Legislature, HB 403 shortened that filing window from two weeks to what was effectively four days, because of the Memorial Day holiday. Would-be elected officials can file as write-in candidates until 60 days before the election.

This year, primary elections and caucuses in Fruit Heights will be held August 13, and the general election will be Nov. 5. Ballot questions and initiatives will be voted on during the general election.

Despite all the new names, a sea change is unlikely. Several city leaders are hoping to hold onto their seats, and there are no county, state or federal races on the ballot.

In Bountiful, Mayor Joe Johnson has decided not to seek a fourth term, leaving the race open for two new candidates. For two city council positions in that city, only one incumbent has filed for reelection.

The situation is more dramatic in Centerville, where no incumbents are running for reelection.

Farmington will also look to a new mayor in 2014. There, Mayor Scott Harbertson won’t run, but councilman John Bilton will fight to keep his seat.

Kaysville, Woods Cross, West Bountiful and North Salt Lake are exceptions С mayors of each city are running for reelection, and incumbent councilmembers are again on the ballot.

In Fruit Heights, a caucus system instead of primary voting means no candidates filed for election last week.

In the north end of the county, embattled Syracuse Mayor Jamie Nagle has decided to seek reelection but in sharp contrast, West Point Mayor Erik Craythorne will run unopposed.

Layton is among the cities that should count on new leadership, however.  Mayor Steve Curtis will step down, leaving four candidates to compete for votes. Clearfield will also see a new mayor in 2014.

An effort on Utah’s capitol hill that would have allowed same-day voter registration failed, so voter registration for either race is due 30 days prior to the vote, if submitted by mail, and 15 days before, if done in person. You can find mail-in forms at the County Clerk’s Office, County Libraries, City Offices, and Post Offices or online at

This following list includes all candidates who filed for city elections in the county:

Bountiful City Council: Meagan Becker, Richard Watson, Kendalyn Harris, Fred Moss-I, John Pitt, Suzanne Galloway,

Bountiful Mayoral: Beth Holbrook, Randy Lewis 

Centerville City Council: Charlie Bradley, Kevin Daly, Jack Dellastatious, Tami Fillmore, Gary Roland Goff, Stephanie Ivie, and George McEwan

Centerville Mayoral: Larry Wright, Paul Cutier

Clearfield City Council: Keri Benson, Gary Bingham, Randy Goodnight, Ron Jones,Benjamin G. Larsen, David Tomczak, Bruce Young-I

Clearfield Mayoral: Gary Scott Baldwin, Mark R. Shepherd 

Clinton City Council: Barbara J. Patterson, Michael Ray Petersen, Karen M. Peterson, Terrie C. Rees, Anthony O. “Tony” Thompson, Vernon S. Warner

Clinton Mayoral: L. Mitch Adams-I, Debbie Barlow

Farmington City Council (two-year): Doug Richard Anderson, Kristen F. Harbertson, David Stringfellow

Farmington City Council (four year): John S. Bilton-I, Rick Dutson, Scott E. Isaacson, Brigham N. Mellor, Jeffrey J. Steele

Farmington Mayoral: John C. Bowker, Jr., H. James Talbot

Fruit Heights City Council: no candidates filed

Fruit Heights Mayoral: no candidates filed

The city will hold a caucus meeting on August 13 in its local Pinecone and Sagebrush parties. Winning candidates will move forward to the general election.

Kaysville City Council: Jared R. Taylor-I, Susan Lee, Brian Frandsen, Stroh L. DeCaire, Gil A. Miller-I

Kaysville Mayoral: Arthur Rexford Whittaker, Steve Hiatt-I 

Layton City Council: Mike Bouwhuis-I, Thomas (Tom) Day, Dawn Fitzpatrick, Barry T. Flitton -I, Joy Petro, Shalie Barber Reich

Layton Mayoral: Joyce Forbes Brown, Jory Francis, Bob J. Stevenson, Grace B. Stevenson  

North Salt Lake City Council: Matt Jensen РI, James Emery Hill, Ryan Mumford 

North Salt Lake Mayoral: Leanoard Arave, Ryan Macfarlane

South Weber City Council: Scott R. Casas, Ryan Stott, Jan Ukena, Farrell D. Poll-I, Marlene Poore, Dustin Petty, Joseph E. Gertge-I

South Weber Mayoral: Tamara P. Long, Jeffery G. Monroe-I

Sunset City Council: Raymond H. Chapman, Jr., Ricky Carlson-I, Trystal Peay, Daniel Mathis, Chris R. Hadley, Brent Andrews-I

Sunset Mayoral: Kevin Snow, Ryan Furniss-I, Beverly K. Macfarlane

Syracuse City Council: Brian Duncan-I, Michael Gailey, Allen Lowry, Gary Pratt, Daniel Schuler, Randy Miller

Syracuse Mayoral: Travis Jackson, Jamie Nagle-I, Terry Palmer, Douglas Peterson

West Bountiful City Council: Corey Dee Sweat, Brady Tracy, David W. Tovey-I, Mark Preece-I, Alan Malan, E. Kelly Enquist

West Bountiful Mayoral: Gary T. Spilman, Kenneth L Romney-I, Bud Ingles

West Point City Council: Brogan Fullmer, John Detamore, Andy Dawson-I, Kent Henderson-I, Eric Braegger

West Point Mayoral: Erik Craythorne-I, unopposed

 Woods Cross City Council: Ryan Westergard-I, Tamra Dayley-I, Ryan Larsen, James Sheldon

Woods Cross Mayoral: Kent Parry-I, Rick Earnshaw


Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of
Follow us on: