Northridge boys lacrosse finishes historic season

By Catherine Garrett Clipper sportswriter LAYTON—The Northridge High boys lacrosse team placed eighth in the state, its highest finish in program history, led by the coach of the year and 11 players who received postseason honors. Coach Jarron Woodson was named 2018 U.S. Lacrosse Coach of the Year in helping a young team who had been in the Division II state championship game last season finish in the top 10 in a higher division this year. “What an honor,” Woodson said. “A lot of hard work goes into being recognized like that, but all the credit goes to my team and staff. They put in all the work and make me look good. Kudos to them – they believe in me as I believe in them.” Woodson said it is a thrill for him to watch his players work hard and grow up while he shares with them the game he loves. Second Team All-State A Division honors went to midfielder Sam Skousen, who had 47 goals and 36 assists; attacker Sam Sargent, who scored 39 goals and assisted 32 times; and defender Tavis Fitzgerald, who had 72 ground balls and 71 caused turnovers, while scoring two goals and recording three assists. Attacker Max Nicol, who scored 50 goals and had 14 assists, along with defender Pasoni “Yo” Finlinson, who had 19 ground balls and 14 caused turnovers, were recognized as Honorable Mention All-State. Six players were named All-Region – Connor Gray, who had 14 goals, two assists, 88 ground balls and 289 faceoffs taken with 164 faceoffs won; Landon Huddleston, who scored 25 goals with eight assists; Ryan Burke, who recorded 31 ground balls and 21 caused turnovers; Cody Bell, with 16 goals and two assists; Jon Hunt, who had 38 ground balls and 13 caused turnovers; and goalie Ty Roper, who recorded a 46.89 save percentage. This season, Northridge defeated Bingham 14-10, Fremont 15-9, Skyridge 16-7, Ridgeline 19-3, Davis 13-11, Mountain Crest 18-9, Weber 17-6, Sky View 13-9, Roy 12-4 and Bountiful 19-8 while losing to Olympus 14-9, Bonneville 13-10 and Logan 21-10 in a 10-3 regular season before losing to Logan 15-11 in the state playoffs. “A couple of new coaches really made a big difference for us this year,” Woodson said. “We also preached, ‘You become a champion in the off-season’ and the kids bought into that and put in the grind before the season started.” Also on the 2018 squad were Brooks Ashton, Alexander Augenblick, Dillon Brown, Ryan Finlinson, Jaron Greenwood, Colton Jeske, Mitchell Johnson, Karson Kirby, Jaxon Larson, Brigham Lee, Anthony Macias, Kellan Mohr, Hayden Moss, Dusty Petersen, Connor Rigby, Ryker Schenck, Carson Smith and Jacob Woolsey. “I love those guys to death,” Woodson said. “Next year, I think we can be even better.” Woodson was assisted by Josh Graber, Adam Hunsaker and Kyle Kemper along with program director Daniel Burke.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.