Nominees announced for new UTA board

by Becky GINOS

FARMINGTON—There are two familiar names headed to the governor’s desk for consideration to be appointed to the newly formed Utah Transit Authority Board.

The Davis County Commission announced their nominee recommendations at their Tuesday meeting.

Davis County Commissioner Bret Millburn and Bountiful City Council member Beth Holbrook were selected as the top two applicants for the position. With the passage of SB136 during the 2018 Legislative session that changed the governance of UTA from a 16-member board to a three-member full-time commission, Davis and Weber Counties in consultation with Box Elder County as well as Salt Lake County were asked to submit two names to represent those areas.

“We went about the process with the HR directors going through the names of those who had submitted an application,” said Commission Chair Randy Elliott. “Then the body of commissioners went over the names of the applicants and selected two people to forward onto the governor.”

Elliott read the official letter that will be sent to the governor’s office for consideration.

“We are blessed to have Commissioner Millburn and his knowledge of all things UTA,” said Commissioner Jim Smith. “This will give him the opportunity to extend that level and represent the whole state. It’s been a privilege to work with him.”

Millburn served as a member of the transportation task force that worked last summer on identifying the steps needed to address population growth and transportation culminating in the passage of SB136. He has been on the Davis County Commission since 2007 but did not make it through the county convention to be reelected. His current term ends Jan. 7, 2019.

Beth Holbrook is in her third term as a Bountiful City Council member that ends Dec. 31, 2019.

Once the governor makes his appointments the names will go to the Senate for confirmation.

“Thank you for your consideration,” said Millburn to the commission. “I look forward to the next step as my name and Beth’s name goes to the governor.”


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.