SALT LAKE CITY– With an eye toward ensuring that college students graduate in a timely manner, the Utah State Board of Regents voted Friday to double the cost of tuition for those who have more than 125 percent of credits necessary for graduation.
In the past, that threshold has been 135 percent and was considered vague and only rarely applied, according to a press release.
The increase won’t apply to those working on double majors or earning credits required by employers. Other exceptions were also outlined, including exceptions for students earning second bachelor’s degrees or doing concurrent enrollment.
The policy will require institutions to develop a process for notifying students that the surcharge may be implemented, thereby encouraging students to efficiently complete their program of study, according to the release. Utah leaders have set a goal of having 66 percent of adults in the state with a higher education credential by the year 2020. This policy has been put in place to support that aim.