Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Educators honored for CARE
May 11, 2013 | 575 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print

FARMINGTON — Excellence, innovation and achievement were celebrated on Thursday, May 9, when 10 Davis County employees were presented CARE awards.

The winners represented teachers, instructional coaches, secretaries and staff members, and were selected by a committee that reviewed hundreds of nominations.

CARE stands for Celebrate Achievement, Reward Excellence.

Staffers, parents and students could nominate those they felt “demonstrated achievement and excellence in their field, achieved superior results through innovation or creativity and contributed to improving and sustaining quality education,” according to a press release.

Carrie Abner, a sixth-grade teacher at Endeavour Elementary, is one of the 10 honorees, along with Pat Laraway, a math teacher at Layton High, Doug Saltzgiver, a math teacher at Woods Cross High and Allison Riddle, a fifth-grade teacher at Foxboro Elementary. Riddle was also named Teacher of the Year for the district.

Others honored were Davis Allart, school technology special projects manager; Becky DeGroot, before- and after-school coordinator at Whitesides Elementary; Jon Hyatt, district social studies specialist; Suzann Jones, head secretary at Heritage Elementary; Jill Major, resource teacher at Taylor Elementary, and Darci Mock, instructional coach at Adams Elementary.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of
Follow us on: