Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Clark Burbidge's new "Star Passage" novel wins award
Jul 23, 2017 | 2345 views | 0 0 comments | 297 297 recommendations | email to a friend | print
A detail of the cover art from "Star Passage: Heroes and Martyrs."
Courtesy image
A detail of the cover art from "Star Passage: Heroes and Martyrs." Courtesy image

WOODS CROSS — The book isn’t even out yet, and it’s already received its first award. 

Woods Cross author Clark Burbidge’s upcoming middle-grade fantasy adventure, “Star Passage: Heroes and Martyrs,” was recently awarded a gold medal by the Mom’s Choice Awards in the category of Young Adult Fiction. The book, which is second in the “Star Passage” series, will be released July 27. 

“It is humbling to have my work recognized and always seems to catch me by surprise,” said Burbidge. “The fact that their reviews are based on excellence in literature as well as family values makes it even more meaningful.”

“Star Passage: Heroes and Martyrs” continues the time-traveling adventures of Tim and Martie, who are struggling to protect an ancient relic from the travelers who hope to steal it and use it for their own purposes. In the current novel, the two siblings find a set of brothers who have also suffered tragedies at home. The four must solve the secrets of the relic before time runs out, as well as find some healing for the trauma in their lives. 

“I wanted people, especially children who struggle, to feel there is real hope that they can overcome family challenges and personal challenges,” Burbidge said of the book.

The Mom’s Choice Awards are international awards in a variety of categories chosen by a panel of women, including parents and professionals in a variety of relevant fields. They give out both gold and silver awards, both of which are determined by the book or products quality, morals, and ability to be inspirational or uplifting. 

Burbidge is a familiar face at the awards, having one several gold medal awards for previous books. Along with the previous book in the series, “Star Passage: Relic,” he has also won awards for books such as the picture book “A Piece of Silver – A Story of Christ” and the middle-grade book “Giants in the Land.” 

“This makes six Gold Medal books in a row for each of my last six books,” said Burbidge. “I never dreamed this would happen when back in 2010 I was struggling to get anyone I could to take a look at my first book. I’m grateful to all those who have helped make this journey so wonderful and satisfying.”

“Giants in the Land” is the first book in another award-winning fantasy trilogy written by Burbidge. The series follows multiple generations of young heroes as they and their giant companions work to save their kingdom from the forces that threaten it. 

“It’s written for those who have a kernel of belief or a desire to believe that there is a greater resource,” Burbidge told the Clipper about the trilogy. “If they seek it, they will find it.”

“Star Passage: Heroes and Martyrs” is available for pre-order through and Barnes and Noble. For more information about the author and his books, visit or

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of
Follow us on: