Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Connors nominated for state Supreme Court
Apr 15, 2010 | 1707 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
SALT LAKE CITY — A 2nd District Court judge is one of six nominees for an upcoming vacancy on the Utah Supreme Court.

Judge David M. Connors, a former mayor of Farmington and 2nd District Court judge is one of the six nominees.

Connors was appointed to the Second District Court by Governor Jon M. Huntsman, Jr. and took office January 2008.

He earned a law degree from Brigham Young University’s J. Reuben Clark Law School where he was a member of the Law Review and graduated magna cum laude in 1979. He received a bachelor’s degree from Yale University in 1974.

Prior to his appointment to the bench, he was a partner with LeBoeuf, Lamb, Greene & MacRae, L.L.P., where he served as head of the Utah litigation group.

From 1979 through 1980, Connors clerked at the U.S. Court of Appeals, Second Circuit, in New York City.

He served as Farmington’s mayor from 2002 to 2006. He has also served as a board member of the Wasatch Front Regional Council, Davis County Council of Governments, Davis Education Foundation, and the Mormon Arts Foundation, and as a trustee for the Economic Development Corporation of Utah. He is a past chairman of the Business Law Section of the Utah State Bar.

Others nominated include: Judge Royal I. Hansen, of Salt Lake City, 3rd District Court; Thomas R. Lee, counsel, for Howard, Phillips & Andersen, and law professor, J. Reuben Clark Law School, Brigham Young University; Judge Carolyn B. McHugh, of Salt Lake City, Utah Appeals Court; Judge David Mortensen, of Springville, 4th District Court; and Jeanette F. Swent, of Salt Lake City, chief, Civil Division, U.S. Attorney’s Office.

A 10-day public comment period will be held before the names are submitted to Gov. Gary Herbert.

Utah Supreme Court Nominating Commission Chair Gayle McKeachnie is accepting written comments regarding the nominees at the Administrative Office of the Courts, P.O. Box 140241, Salt Lake City,, 84114-0241.

The deadline for written comments is April 22, 2010, by 5 p.m.

The commission may request further interviews or an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments.

After the public comment period, the names will be sent to the governor who has 30 days to select a candidate.

The governor’s nominee is then forwarded to the Senate Confirmation Committee, which reviews the nominee’s qualifications and conducts a public hearing and interview session.

The Senate Confirmation Committee will forward the final nominee to the Utah State Senate, which has 60 days from the governor’s nomination to confirm the nominee.

The position will replace Justice Michael J. Wilkins who will retire in May.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of
Follow us on: